Autumn Peeps

I usually get peeps in the spring, but because our egg laying was way down I decided to try sooner with some fall peeps. They should be ready to lay in the spring. I got 4 each of 4 breeds (all brown egg layers), plus an exotic that Murray McMurray Hatchery throws in for free. All 17 survived the mail and here they are in all their glorious puffiness!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Buff Orpingtons

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Silver-Laced Wyandottes

GE DIGITAL CAMERA Don’t they have beautiful eye liner!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Black Austrolorps and Plymouth Barred Rocks (hard to tell apart as babies)

GE DIGITAL CAMERA GE DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally the freebie exotic. Usually I have no idea what the exotic is until it grows up, but there was no mystery to this one! Probably my least favorite of any chicken breed–I have no idea why people like them enough to keep breeding them. But I am now the proud owner of a turken.

Turken

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

My mother is afraid I will be biased against it since I don’t care for the breed. So she named it Precious. I will love Precious with all my heart!

Group Shot

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Autumn Peeps

  1. Debbie says:

    What is a Turken?

  2. Trish says:

    They are just so adorable!!! If needed to have BIG chickies, I would choose the Buff Orpingtons! I first saw them on a sightseeing trip in PA with your mum. But my flock of 40 banties, no 2 the same, will keep me in tiny eggs for awhile!!
    I will see them in a few weeks! Coming down the 2nd week in October. You can meet Synty! (Syntyche)

  3. Beautiful chicks! The silver-laced Wyandottes will grow up to be absolutely beautiful. I like’em all, even the turken. They’re unusual, but why discriminate against the unusual? “:)

  4. danrshaw says:

    I’m jealous. I guess we need to get new chicks sometime. Our 6 girls have slowed way down. The 2 Plymouth Rocks are putting out but the rest of them are sporadic at best. I guess next spring we need to change them all out.

  5. glorylennon says:

    And they all get along together…amazing!

  6. Revilyn says:

    You will have a nice mix in your flock come spring. I’m partial to the silver and gold laced. And I’m glad you are determined to love your precious exotic because I’m with you on the least-favorite perspective. (Shudder). But it isn’t her fault. Good idea to have a fall fruit theme background. If later you look back at peep pics you will remember that these were fall-hatched.

  7. Michelle Canfield says:

    OMG, I’m with you, I think those things are so hideous! I would be biased too. But good choice on the name, hopefully that will help out him/her? 😀

Leave a comment