My Bookstore Gets an Expansion!

After 10 years in business at this location, we are giving the Pennsylvania Curriculum Exchange some more room! The renovation should take about two weeks, though it will be broken up a bit because of the holiday. Then it will take me another week or two to put it all back together again and get it cleaned up.

Every bookcase but two is being relocated, so that is more than 25,000 books to slog around. We also plan to add more lights and a ceiling fan to help distribute the heat more evenly around the columns of bookcases.

The first thing we did was get a storage shed for behind the store. Since I am losing my store room for the expansion, I needed somewhere to store my “stuff”!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Now for the renovation. Probably most people don’t know, but on the back of the store building is a 12-foot sliding door. The building was previously used for repairing semis, so there is a BIG door in the back. This has to be removed and a wall created with just a people door in it.

Day 1:

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Standing behind the counter looking toward the back. The inside walls of my store room are gone, as is the large sliding door.

History and Math sections are toast!

History and Math sections are toast!

Standing out by my new shed in back, looking into the new gaping hole in the side of the building.

Standing out by my new shed in back, looking into the new gaping hole in the side of the building.

Day 2/3

The new frame for a wall has been built and the back door and window installed.

The new frame for a wall has been built and the back door and window installed. Also, the new inside walls have been studded out.

Day 4

Construction is done! Outside wall and new paneling is installed, Also some new lighting and a ceiling fan (not visible here).

Construction is done! Outside wall and new paneling have been installed. Also installed is the suspended ceiling and some new lighting and a ceiling fan (not visible here). This picture is taken from in the bargain section.

All the above construction was done by Smiley Construction from York Springs, Pa, (717-528-8779 / smileyconst@embarqmail.com). It’s owned by the Shuchart family, who are a homeschooling family, too! We have used them for a number of projects and have been very happy. I totally recommend them.

So Dave needs to finish putting the ceiling back together and get cracking on building my 20+ new bookcases. We also are waiting for the carpet to be installed. Then I get to start re-arranging and cleaning!

So that is our mid-way update. Hopefully very soon I will have less messy pictures to show off. 🙂

This entry was posted in PA Curriculum Exchange and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Bookstore Gets an Expansion!

  1. danrshaw says:

    You gotta be a genius to keep track of all them books and to keep them in some kind of order. The way schools are going and with more and more families switching to homeschooling I’m sure you end up outgrowing your expansion. Isn’t that a nice thought?
    I noticed you found the snow plugin for word press. Nice effect.

  2. Julie Helms says:

    There is no outgrowing this one. It is located in a residential area, and I already have a special exception to have the business here and am not permitted to increase the footprint. I suppose I could build up!!
    The snow thing wasn’t my doing…

  3. Trish says:

    Wow! That’s a lotta book room!!!!!! 🙂

  4. Kelly Mervine says:

    I always like the idea of going up 😛 Good for you! May the Lord continue to bless you

  5. Robin Zook says:

    Julie, If you need any extra help when the project is done, putting it all back together, My 14 year old boy and I would love to volunteer. Just let us know: you can message me on Facebook or email me at bkrjzook82@comcast.net.

  6. Debby Taylor says:

    Hi Julie. I inquired about your young ram a few months ago. I didn’t realize that you were homeschoolers! I have been home schooling since 1991. Last one is a senior! Yea! I have been looking for a way to handle all of our books after we are finished. Could you send me your email so I can get some further info?
    By the way, I am still interested in that ram!

  7. Nice, Julie! That’s wonderful. Btw..I got here by using the RSS feed link I put on http://www.incomingbbytes.com for you! It actually works and will show your newest posts….haha!

Leave a Reply

