Back to Indiana

This spring I went to Indiana to visit friends. While there I drove by our old house. We moved away 12 years ago.  It is shocking and sad to see what the place looks like now. I can’t even imagine how a place can fall apart so quickly.

Here is our home about 1998

CR 126, Goshen, Indiana

We did a lot of improvements during our 7 years here. There was no front door or walkway to the house, we added those along with the front gardens. It is an 1870 farmhouse with 2 large barns, silo and coop on 16 acres.

Here is what it looks like now, about the same view (use bright red door as reference point)–

The garden is history–there are weed trees growing up from it. The window to the left of the door is completely obscured by overgrown bushes. And the grass had not been mown yet.

The picture below goes right next to the one above. It is (was) our original driveway. You can tell by the white garage windows at the end of the driveway (house corner shows on left). It’s now a dead vehicle parking lot with a tree growing in it.

They have put in a “new” driveway that goes in front of the house ( bottom of pic), over our walkway.

Here is an aerial picture of our house from the mid 90s:

You can clearly see the driveway between house (top corner) and barn, plus the walkway. Notice no tree in the middle of driveway (or waist-high weeds either).

And now a look at the paddock. This is the dark green section at the bottom of the above picture connecting the barn on the road and the big barn.

Below is what it looks like now:

Notice abandoned partially built structure in back–just sticks poking up???? The wood was weathered so has not been worked on in years.

Then we turned around and took one last picture of the house from a different angle:

I know I don’t own it any more and it is theirs to do with as they please, but this really breaks my heart. I’m thinking the neighbors aren’t too pleased either now that this is a real eyesore.

Just some more random shots of the property, most without comment:

That’s my bedroom. Directly straight ahead. The bush is actually taller than the roof of the house.

I planted this privet hedge.

This entry was posted in scenic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Back to Indiana

  1. Debbie says:

    Most of the pic links did not post… :(

    I am saddened that the next owners didn’t keep care of that house. You had some wonderful memories there (as did I for a lovely week’s vacation). Pity.

    ________________________________

    • Julie Helms says:

      Are other people having problems seeing the pics? Try checking back tomorrow, Deb. One of the reasons it is so sad was because that is where I raised my young children! So it is very dear to me!

  2. Trish says:

    The very first picture of the home when you lived there does show. Then the next 5 pictures of the current state do not show and the next 5 do show. So pictures 2-6 do not show up.

  3. Cylly says:

    That’s sad!!
    (I am having the same trouble seeing the pictures as well.)
    I assume you made it through the storm alright??

  4. Laura says:

    What I can see (I’m missing the same ones as the others) breaks my heart! What a difference love makes!

  5. Julie Helms says:

    Hopefully pics are showing now?

  6. barb says:

    pics are now showing.

  7. I can see all of the pics, Julie. No wonder you are sad…that’s life isn’t it. It WAS a beautiful place; maybe the people aren’t well enough to take care of it properly. Regardless, it’s an eye-opener isn’t it.

  8. glorylennon says:

    I had the same experience with my home on Long Island. It was such a mess. My mother’s carefully tended gardens were gone and the house was trashed. Guess you really can’t go home again in some cases. 😦

  9. Cylly says:

    Yes, I can see all the very sad pictures now. 😦
    I remember visiting when it was a well-cared-for, beloved farm with happy kidlets and chickens and sheep and a cute pony … I choose to remember it THAT way!

  10. Julie Helms says:

    Cylyn, you are right!! Both are in that corner. Zach was a dorset. Most of what we had were dorsets, terrible wool, good meat. We also had a Finn that once gave us 3 sets of triplets in a year (that’s 9 baby lambs). ( We did not control our breeding–it was a free-for-all.) Her name was Fertile Myrtle.

  11. Trish says:

    Where’s Waldo? I see Lil BIT!!!!!!

  12. Fran Kocher says:

    Sad to see all the lovely improvements wasted on new owners. Save the old pics…..hide these…don’t look back. We should always leave a place better than the way we found it…..something we’ve always tried to do. Have no regrets. Savor the good memories….raising the children there, entertaining family and friends, learning the bookstore business, having fun with the animals and gardens. Thanks for the happy days we shared there.

Leave a Reply

