A Walkabout

Today was such a beautiful day. Well, it wasn’t sunny, or very warm. It drizzled just a bit. But it was somehow… content.

A butternut squash plant escapes the confines of the garden onto the lawn. It gave us many beautiful flowers this summer and not a single squash.

Days like this are perfect for reflection. The busyness of summer has passed and I feel I can take a few deep breaths. For me, summer feels a bit like living in the passing lane with an 18-wheeler bearing down on me. I can’t pull over so I have to go a little faster or put up with the bullying from behind. So now I have gotten through and can pull over to the slow lane and unclench my hands from the wheel, smooth sailing ahead, a more relaxed drive.

I meandered about the property in the crisp air of morning, followed by the usual suspects. The “new” girls are very friendly and always attend me whether I walk to the car or the mailbox or stroll aimlessly. They are still missing feathers so they pull their heads in like little vultures, maybe to keep their bare necks warmer. I wonder if they would like little knit scarves?

I don’t have any pretty foliage on the property to show off this year. Some trees just went bare, some brown and crispy. Still waiting to hear what the red maples will be performing this fall.  Meanwhile, Brianna, Colleen and Daphne rest under the winter-ready mulberry tree.

And finally I ramble to a corner of the property I rarely visit. So much of our place is still obviously a former cornfield, but there is one small area that has more of the feel of a mature English hedgerow, with the trees all lined up in a proper queue. In winter the limbs become perches for woodpeckers and crows and jays, and my cat Whisper.

Well, time to get to work. No more lollygagging.

This entry was posted in scenic. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Walkabout

  1. Trish says:

    🙂 Such a nice visit with you!

  2. Cylly says:

    Thank you for the tour! I liked your “proper queue” comment. Nice to see the new green-egger hens fitting in and being friendly.

  3. Glory Lennon says:

    LOL, want me to knit a few chicken neck-warmers? Nice stroll, thanks for taking us along.

  4. cecilia says:

    What an excellent way of describing summer! It sounds a bit like mine!! c

    • Julie Helms says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Celi! I’ve been enjoying your blog for the last few weeks now. Anyone else reading this, click through on her name to see her lovely farm blog!

Leave a Reply

