Double Take

I thought I was seeing double when I found this in the hay…

What a whopper!

At first I thought maybe an ostrich had snuck into the barn. But no, these two eggs were laid by the same age chicken (7 month old Red Sex Link).  This is the first time I have had this breed, known to be the most prolific egg layer for brown eggs.

It didn’t exactly fit in an egg carton.

When I saw this egg I even wondered if we had found the elusive triple-yolker. But alas it was just a double. Made a great breakfast this morning! 🙂

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Double Take

  1. Fran Kocher says:

    Wow. Kind of sorry Maxi was chasing those poor “ladies” around the yard yesterday! What a huge difference in egg size.

  2. Trish says:

    double ouch!! That’s just WRONG!!!!

  3. Cylly says:

    It bears repeating: double-owwie! I never imagined the potential of a TRIPLE-yolker. But the size of this egg makes me a believer.

  4. Lisa says:

    yum and ouch
    at least we have epidurals in the human world….

Leave a Reply

