Some New Friends Come to Wooly Acres

A friend of a customer was desperately searching for a home for her chickens before she moves. She doesn’t know the breed or the age. Sure…bring them on over!

They arrived late last night. I couldn’t see much, it was dark and they were in a small cage, but they were clearly a rag-taggy bunch: 6 ladies and a roo. “What breed does she think they are?” I asked my customer who brought them. “She said they might be Rhode Island Reds.”  “Uh, no.”

So this morning I let them out in the yard and could clearly see they are Americaunas, or more likely, the mongrel breed of Easter Eggers.

Their feathers are in deplorable condition. Body weight seems fine and their feet look decent, but those feathers. I think they were probably well fed in their previous home, but kept in too tight of confinement. As they walked around the yard, they kept stretching their wings and flapping them–as if to be pleased that they had plenty of room.

Then the roosters met. My White Orpington is on the right. They flopped around for a few seconds but pecking order was established quickly and without blood.  (Sorry so blurry–I was quite a distance away).

My red star in front of one of the scraggly new ladies.

And just a reminder of pretty, healthy feathering from my White Orpingtons….

I wanted to record what these new friends look like so that hopefully I can look back and see a difference very quickly.

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some New Friends Come to Wooly Acres

  1. Cylly says:

    I thought they looked Americana-ish, too. Green eggs, how festive! I love a nice mix of egg colors when I open a box. I’m sure they will love Wooly Acres! After a bit of adjusting they should pop back into shape. Are they smaller birds than your flock? The roo looked like he is considerably smaller than yours.

    • Julie Helms says:

      At first I wondered if we may have some partial banties here, but I know from experience that Araucanas anyway are a chunk smaller than the heavies I usually keep. But the roo is smallest of all. Orpingtons are among the largest of breeds, so he may just look dwarfed next to him.

  2. Trish says:

    They look AWFUL! Yours are gorgeous!
    I would suggest getting an Ivermectin cattle liquid and worm them, and it should take care of any hidden buggies. Yours too so the buggies don’t jump to fresh hosts. A few drops on their skin and don’t eat any eggs from them for a few days.. You can get details online if it is not familiar to you.

  3. Americaunas, I’d go with that guess or something close to it. You’ll have them looking good soon. They really do need to be out and about. They’ll get better feathers in no time. They look like they were moulting. YOURS look great, Julie.

    • Julie Helms says:

      You’re right–they might be moulting too. But I think it is more than that because you can see the central rib on each feather (like a think white stripe) which is no-no at any stage. But the combination could be making them look worse.

  4. glorylennon says:

    How wonderful! New feathery friends at Wooly Acres for me to see, next time I come around!

  5. Laura says:

    They really do look pathetic and plucked. Glad the new roo backed down so nobody got hurt. Poor guy – it must seem daunting to him. Still, I be they will be MUCH happier having your whole farm to hunt juicy bugs on and make dust bowls in (maybe some extra diatomaceous earth in the dust wouldn’t hurt).

Leave a Reply

