Making Pickles

The cucumbers are coming in now! I planted one variety for fresh eating and one for pickling. Both were ready for harvesting at the same time.

The short stumpy pickling variety.

This cuke plant has over grown its trellis and is spilling down the side of the raised bed. Next to them, the beans are in full swing giving us a little less than a quart of beans a day from the plants shown here. Nasturtiums in front still haven’t bloomed. I’m not sure there was any point in planting them for bug repellent (assuming it is the blooms that are the repellent.) But then we have absolutely no pests in this part of the garden so maybe they are doing their job! :-)

I tried my hand for the first time at making some Bread & Butter pickles. Turns out it is easy peasy.

My first three cukes off the vine. This is a pickling variety called Everbearing SMR-58, a non-hybrid, open-pollinated type. It has grown beautifully and shown no disease or bugs. These are about 4-5″ long. Stubbies, I say.

I sliced them with a wavy-bladed thingie.

Bread & Butter are my favorite so I got pickling spice to make that flavor.

Pickling spice, 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar, sugar.

I bottled for a cold pack since I only had enough for one jar and we will eat it quick enough. The directions say wait 3 weeks before eating but they taste very good RIGHT NOW!

Better than Vlasic!

Recipe from Ball:

3½ lbs cucumbers (about 14 small to medium)
2½ cups vinegar (I split 50:50 apple cider and white)
2½ cups sugar
¼ cup Ball Bread & Butter Pickle Mix
2 quart (32 oz) jars with lids
 
For cold pack (good for 3 months): boil sugar, vinegar and pickle mix. Pour hot over slicde cukes in a bowl. Let cool. Pack pickles in jar then ladle liquid over them to fill jar.
For canning (good for a year or more): Boil as above. Put sliced cukes in hot jars and ladle liquid to 1/2 inch from top. Seal and use hot water bath for 15 minutes.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Pickles

  1. danrshaw says:

    Our cucumbers have been in for a couple of weeks now. I got around to making 12 pints of sweet relish and 6 quarts of garlic pickles. Our potatoes are done and we got about 25 pounds out of a 24 ft row or about 8 plants. I dehydrated half of them and still have the other half to do. We also got about 3 lbs of carrots out of the same lenght (24ft) and they are in the dehydrator now. I still have a ton of green beans to can or dehydrate. I might just dehydrate them. Someone gave beth a 50 lb sack of onions and I have about half of them dehydrated. When I dehydrate veggies I put them up in quart jars with an oxygen absorber.

  2. Cylly says:

    I love the fancy cut pickles. Wow that sounds so easy! Sometimes we reload our pickle jars with fresh cukes and wait a few days, so I guess it’s a similar idea.

    Dan, how do you make relish? (guest post?!)

  3. authormjlogan says:

    Mom used to do about 100 quarts of pickles every year, in addition to tomatoes and everything else. My summers were spent canning. I may try a few jars of dill and B&B this year. Planning on some pickled beets too.

    • Julie Helms says:

      Did you then actually eat 100 quarts of pickles through the year?? Or did you have a farmstand type thing going on?

      • authormjlogan says:

        With four growing boys, there’s wasn’t much left to sell LOL. I think we probably ate about 50 quarts of pickles a year, mostly dill. There was always a jar of dills in the fridge and we’d open it up and grab two or three for a snack. The B&Bs were mainly given out at holidays to friends and relatives for use at special occasions. I have no idea why, that was how we were. My personal favorites are the small 2-inch dills.

        I grew up canning and preserving from about end of May until the end of October. Then
        I left home for college and didn’t eat vegetables for the next three years unless I was home. They didn’t taste right.

Leave a Reply

