Veggie Garden Update 6/14/12

Some good news and some bad in the garden.  The stuff that is doing well is doing really well, and that which failed did so spectacularly.

Lots of broccoli coming out now. There is an occasional green worm but not bad at all for pests.

Cucumbers climbing their trellis

Bush beans with a few non-blooming nasturtiums in front.

A little itty bitty cauliflower. First one to show up!

The tomatoes are blooming. So far no sign of the blight that wiped out my tomatoes for the last two years. It’s early yet, but they do look very healthy. I have 5 varieties coming in.

Please ignore the invading grass on this one! This is my “three sister” bed. The corn is about knee high. The pole beans have mostly sprouted as have the squash in the center of the corn circle. This is a first try for this technique for me. The beans are supposed to grow up the cornstalks, while fixing nitrogen at the corn’s hungry roots. And the squash are supposed to spread out and prevent weeds. Hah, we”l see. I have six beds like this, each six feet long.

Cabbage. One of the disasters. This is my best head. It was perfect about two days ago and I debated cutting it since all the rest look like swiss cheese. It was so small that I didn’t and it got attacked badly. I am not interested in using any pesticides, so I will try row covers next year as my mom told me too. 🙂

The disgusting creatures eating MY cole slaw. Tons of gelatinous eggs and half a dozen super juicy cabbage worms. I fed the whole mess to the sheep.

LOOK closely. There are little blueberries just beginning to blush. These bushes were just planted last spring so I wasn’t really expecting anything yet.

On a happier note, I picked some fresh veggies for dinner. A little small in quantity but big in flavor!

This entry was posted in Garden Diary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Veggie Garden Update 6/14/12

  1. Debbie says:

    YUMMMM! Well, except for the cabbage worms. 🙂

  2. Cylly says:

    How nice to have wonderful veggies! I can’t wait to eat fresh garden peas! I bet your chickens would’ve eaten the pudgy cabbage worms. I guess the sheep aren’t too picky.

    • Julie Helms says:

      Yes, I have fed them to the peeps in the past and at first they were suspicious, I think because the worms were so fat, but they quickly learned that they taste like candy! 🙂

  3. maryhysong says:

    If you have chickens they would have gone bonkers for that cabbage & worms. No year is ever perfect and we all learn from our mistakes. And ya, you ought to listen to your mom 😉

    • Julie Helms says:

      I never thought of feeding the cabbage itself to the chickens. I will try it as I have about 10 destroyed heads in the garden yet….will report back. 😀

  4. Hm..Julie, you could try sprinkling used coffee grains around the cabbages and on the outer leaves, coffee grains keep slugs away beautifully. I don’t know if they would be effective keeping cabbage worms away. The rest of your veggies look GREAT!

    • Julie Helms says:

      Ray, I was using DE (diatomaceous earth) and it seemed to work as long as it stayed dry, but I had to water daily, or it rained so that got old replacing it. I think it would be very similar to the coffee grounds in action. Slugs were bad early on but I think the DE totally wiped them out, but those cute little white butterflies were the evil ones in this case.

Leave a Reply

