Farm Diary– March 25, 2012

This is a miscellaneous post of things going on around the farm. It was a beautiful day, though a bit cooler than it has been at 63° (though still above the normal 53° for today). The vegetable garden has had a jump start from the nice weather and recent soaking rains, and the goats were being cute again. Plus an update from the beekeeping workshop. So here we go…

"You took enough pictures of those babies, take a picture of ME-ee-ee!" PopTart up close and personal.

Here is some veggie progress. It’s amazing how a few small leaves that have been labored over can give such joy!

Sugar snap peas

Shallots

Broccoli with spinach just poking through above it.

Celery. This is one that I grew from the stump of celery I bought at the store.

How to grow celery from a supermarket stump: click here.

My starts: Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower and onions from seeds. I need to get these in the ground.

Cabbage starts. I did plant a bunch already, these are left over--but how do you just throw them away?

Nutter. I think we sold Fluffer and Nutter today, so they will go together to a new home. They will stay here till they are weaned.

Double Stuff takes a break, nursing with Cheerios.

Up front: Blynken, Nod and Double Stuff. In the back: Toffee with Wynken and Fluffer. I would like you to notice that all 3 are pretty much facing the camera at the same time! It was an accident.

Glory and I attended the Spring Workshop for PennApic yesterday to learn about beekeeping. I think we were both intimidated by the experience.  It seems beekeeping is not that straightforward–you can do everything right and still not be successful. I also learned that my property may not be ideal for honeybees. I live across the street from a farmer’s field that has soy or corn or hay every year. They probably spray with herbicides, pesticides and fungicides–all lethal to the honeybee. Honeybees have a 3 mile radius. Someone recommended I try mason bees. They are solitary, native and 6x better pollinators than honeybees and only fly 150 yards, thereby not hitting the chemically toxic field across the street. Of course they produce no honey. Thinking about it…

Glory Lennon and I standing in front of a demonstration hive.

This entry was posted in Garden Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Farm Diary– March 25, 2012

  1. Wow, Julie, great pics and post ! I sure do wish our veggies were up in sight already! Great pics of the goat baby-kids too, they’re such little beauties!
    oh…arrrrrrrrgh…. and a beautiful pic of you with our Glory, the cookie-maker who deliver cookies to you, I mean that Glory right there with you, the visiting cookie-baker gardener with chocolate chip/peanut butter cookies yet…..I did not know you could grow celery from a stump…..
    ..*sigh “:))

  2. ….that would be ‘delivers’ cookies to you, chocolate chip / peanut butter….. Lucky Julie….

  3. Cylly says:

    Oh sugar snap peas, my fave! sprouting veggies are a sure sign of spring.

    Those kids are soo cute. I was wondering if you would be going forward with all *9* goats. Will you keep any babies? Are you going to milk the mamas at all? Mmm, goat cheese …

    Would Mason bees “just” be beneficial to the garden instead of producing honey? I’m ignorant when it comes to bees.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I have no desire to maintain a flock of goats. We just had the original two for weed control. But it turns out you can make money selling the babies, so we decided to try it. But I do not want to progress beyond 2 or 3 mommas. Two of the babies are spoken for already.
      Yes, Mason bees are for pollination, they do not have a colony or make honey. It makes them practically non-stingers since they are defending nothing.

  4. Trish Avery says:

    Wow. Tell you what, WOW! So far ahead of us.

  5. obxster77 says:

    How come in the last photo the honey is outside the hive?

  6. authormjlogan says:

    If those extra cabbage starts were mine, they’d go in 8-inch pots and sit wherever there was sun. I have no idea if it would work, but I have a ton of 8-inch plastic pots.

Leave a Reply

