Do you think they are expecting?

When my sheep get pregnant you can’t tell. Even after shearing they basically look the same. It’s not ’til the milk bag shows up in the last two weeks that you can be sure they will deliver. But goats are not so subtle. Here are what my gals look like right now. Do you think they are expecting?

Cheerios has a polite little belly.

Cheerios is still of very small stature. She is the doe we got from our neighbor and is a Nubian/Boer/Toggenburg mix. She does have a small baby bump. I tried to check for an udder and she said, “Excuse me, what do you think you are doing.”

Here is PopTart. She is actually a month younger than Cheerios but is much larger. She is Toffee’s baby and is Nubian/Boer. Both of these young girls had Twizzler as a father.

Remember the cute flipped up ears? Big belly evident.

Aerial view shows loss of her girlie figure. Yes, she's shedding because it is too warm out.

I got a good feel of PopTart's udder. It is very developed for a first time mom. She may go first.

And now, for the Grand Dame, my 3 year old Toffee (Nubian/Boer). She’s the one I’m not sure about. What do you think? Is she pregnant?

Is that a goat?

Not a glamorous view, but really shows off the warermelons she's going to give birth to.

So if all goes well I’m thinking two sets of twins and a single. I should stay out of the guessing game because I’m not successful with it, but it’s fun. 🙂

MOM, did you get me in the picture? Huh, huh, huh? (Cheerios)

This entry was posted in goat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do you think they are expecting?

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    How exciting, you’ll be up to your ears in baby goats! I’m all set and ready to see what happens. Will we be allowed to offer names again? When do you think the birthing will start?

    • Julie Helms says:

      Tentatively April 1st ish. Yes for help on the names. I’ll have to decide if I want to keep going with T names or breakfast foods or what. Our goat plans are a bit discombobulated!

  2. Trish says:

    My African Pygmy wethers were more rotund than your pregnant girls. lol But Toffee is close! And we will be there to see those new babies!!! And the slimmer mamas.
    And is that your 1 rooster from the last clutch? Or the old man? So 5 hens and 1 roo?

    • Julie Helms says:

      No, that’s not the baby. That is Cockle, our head roo. I’m STILL not sure on the peeps. One has begun crowing, but I think I am seeing hackle feathers on a few– so still witholding final judgement on that!
      My pygymies were wide too, but these large breed goats aren’t built like that at all. In fact after weaning the babies off them they get hollowed out looking like a cow with hip bones. So the big bellies are a huge “development”. 🙂

  3. Debbie says:

    I LOVE GOATS!!!! Yep, still a fan! I am going with twins for Toffee, *maybe* twins for Cheerios, and singleton for Pop Tart (although PopTarts usually come in a two-pack). However, I have no idea ’bout birthin’ no babies. Enjoy the process! 🙂

  4. Fran Kocher says:

    SPRING is so much more exciting at your house!! What with your special eggs and all the babies!!
    All I have here is daffodills up 6″ and some with flower buds! Went to a baby shower yesterday for neighbor’s expected first grandchild—a girl due on 3/22. The expectant mom is VERY large…..I predict an 8# baby!! See how close I come.

  5. Stan Short says:

    I’ll help with names….

    Apple Jacks
    Bran Flakes
    Corn Flakes
    Dino Pebbles
    Extra

    LOL

Leave a Reply

