New Kitchen

We got our kitchen partially remodeled today! Our house came with a portable dishwasher which is awkward for me with my not-so-good back to maneuver around. So we put in a built-in dishwasher. While we were at it we replaced the counters which were badly marked, chipped and peeling off in places. And also put in a better sink. I traded in one with two small sinks for one big one.

Here is the before pic:

Notice no dishwasher and the double sink.

Yay! New counters and a built-in dishwasher!

The sink came with some funky wire strainer things that I'm not quite sure what they are for yet.

I love the spacious sink.

The "Fallen Leaves" counter pattern up close. Looks better in real life.

Now if I could just keep the kitchen looking this clean! :-)

The counters were built and installed by Dennis Haring 938-4288. His price was more than 1/3 less than Lowes for the same product. We highly recommend him.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to New Kitchen

  1. glorylennon says:

    Wow, that looks great. Enjoy your new kitchen. :-)

  2. Cylly says:

    How nice! Congratulations on surviving a remodel. Looks great, especially the leaf-pattern countertop. Great minds think alike, cuz I have the very same one in my kitchen! Grin.

    • Julie Helms says:

      Your kidding! Shows how observant I am. We were actually matching the breakfast bar we installed about 5 years ago (behind where I am standing to take the pics). We were very thankful the pattern still existed!

      • Cylly says:

        It’s a good “neutral” and nature-y pattern. It hides a lot of bread crumbs, too! There were 3 colors (dark green, brown, tan) to choose from when we installed ours 6 years ago and I haven’t regretted the tan at all. Funny we both picked it!

      • Julie Helms says:

        The other two shades were no longer available when I looked. I had the green version in Indiana and had wanted that again. We must be related or something…

    • Cylly says:

      Oh I thought maybe for once I beat glorylennon to post a first reply … Still second, two minutes too late! Sigh. 😢

  3. Dan says:

    Did you say something about cooking? what and when? Oh yea, the kitchen looks much better too.
    Does that get me an extra portion?

  4. Laura Sawyer says:

    looks great!

  5. Trish says:

    Haha! I remember Cylyn picking out that pattern! Love it! The kitchen looks just FABULOUS! And with a dishwasher, who needs a dbl bowl sink. And with 2 kids and a business, you need a dw. But I sure do! I keep thinking dishwasher, but could only fit an apartment sized one in. So dbl bowl sink and hand washing works for just the 2 of us.
    CONGRATULATIONS!
    Oh, btw, we ran out of the Hersheys syrup finally so you really need to visit. :)

  6. Debbie says:

    Awesome! Enjoy the new beauty (and the dishwasher too!).

  7. Fran Kocher says:

    Looks great, Julie! I’m sure you’ll enjoy? your kitchen more now! Are you and Cylly twins?

  8. Fran Kocher says:

    I know how to keep a kitchen really clean……eat out!

  9. Congrats on your new kitchen it looks great. If I had some extra money I would love to redo our kitchen although we would really need to replace the cupboards themselves as they are in poor shape. That sink is awesome – huge, you could bath a dog in that, well at least a small dog. I always sort of liked having the double sink but when seeing that big one, I have to think about it. Anyhow I hope all your farm critters are doing great. I have not had anything to blog about either this winter we were smart enough to plan for a March lambing rather than January and the weather is simply awesome, every one is happy, even the deer who keep stealing my hay.

    • Julie Helms says:

      The best part about the sink is the removable nozzle, so I could easily wash my hair!
      We do the same, waiting for spring for lambing, which is why I am blogging about my kitchen and mealworms, not lambs. Lol!

Leave a Reply

