Hearty Lamb Stew

With the snow rolling in, early thoughts of lamb stew filled my mind. I thought I would share our recipe. It isn’t anything staggeringly original but it tastes good!

Put in crock pot:

1 lb lamb stew chunks
1 large onion, chopped
1 can of diced tomatoes (or fresh when we have them)
1 can of beef broth
1 cube of lamb boullion
Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper

Cook all day

One hour before dinner, add

3 large red potatoes, diced
beans, carrots, corn, peas etc.

We eat them with Pillsbury Grands layered biscuits. Leftovers actually taste better the next day!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hearty Lamb Stew

  1. Trish says:

    MMMMMmmmmmmmmmmm………. But don’t you add lentils too?

  2. Lentils are my favorite legumes, next to split peas. Yummy! I can’t understand processed and fast foods when nature gives us such beautiful colors as in your lamb stew.

  3. Mandy says:

    Looks delicious Julie.
    I only like red lentils, the regular lentils taste like grass to me. LOL
    Do you have your power back or are you using a generator to power your crock.
    Query(s)?
    Where do you get lamb bouillon?
    Do you saute your lamb before you throw it in the crock?
    and
    Have you ever made this into a pie?

    • Julie Helms says:

      Mandy, no power–I’m still camped at my mom’s, leaving my husband to watch the cold house. I actually did this post as the storm was coming and it posted automatically this morning.
      Lamb bouillon I bought in England and brought back with me. They call them stock cubes there.The brand is Knorr. I don’t think you can buy it in the US. Of course beef works just as well, but then it just tastes like beef stew.
      If I’m trying to cook it fast I will saute ahead of time–I know that is the proper way to do it. But I’m usually WAY too lazy for that because it requires pre-planning and thawing so I put in a frozen hunk in the morning and it is yummy by dinner!

    • Julie Helms says:

      Oh, as for pie…no. I make shepherd’s pie with lamburger. If you want that recipe, just put shepherd’s pie in the search box on the site here–I posted it a few months back. That is INCREDIbLE tasting!

  4. Cylly says:

    Lamb stew sounds delish! Crock pots are wonderful, aren’t they?
    Re: lentils. I’ve started adding them to risotto for more color and a more “complete” meal.

  5. Danette says:

    Stew looks great but we’re vegetarians here so I’ll just imagine it without the meat. 🙂 Congrats on finishing NaBlo!!

  6. Glory Lennon says:

    You know, I never use my crock pot…now I have to…but where to get the freshest lamb possible…Note to self: must remember to raid Julie’s freezer next time I stop over. 😉

Leave a Reply

