Freak Snowstorm

We got hit with a very unseasonable snowstorm yesterday. Our power, internet, phone etc all went out at noon and at this writing have not come back on (27 hours). We officially got 10 inches of snow, but it is heavy and wet and must have compacted–it seems more like 6″.

My first concern was for my newly hatched peeps. They are supposed to be maintained at 90-95º– hard to accomplish in a house with no electricity (hence no heat lamp) and cooling fast all around. I put them under a towel so they could keep each other warm while I figured out what to do. Then while the snow was still coming down, I made the exodus with brooder and chicks wrapped in a towel to my mom’s house. She also had lost power but has a very nice generator to keep essentials going. The peeps bounced back nicely once their “sun” returned! Poor Dave is holding down the fort, which is hovering just above 50°.

So mom’s internet came back on….allowing me not to miss a day of NaBloWriMo! I was SOOO close to making it through all 31 days of October it was a shame to miss the challenge now.

Here are some pics from sunrise this morning:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Freak Snowstorm

  1. Trish says:

    Exciting post! Wish it wasn’t going to get so cold. Jaffrey, NH got 31 inches!

  2. Glory Lennon says:

    Holy moly, you’d think it was January!

  3. Dan Shaw says:

    As always I’m jealous. I love the snow… I used to love it when the power went out and Beth and I would move a mattress to the living room and camp out there with our kerosene heater and play games and read. It’s not quite the same with 3 people sharing the same space now.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I guess I am not the romantic type– I think it is miserable! Our freezer contents are in danger, my peeps had to be relocated and WORST of all my internet is gone! LOL. I’d like the power back please!

  4. Debbie says:

    I especially like the pic of the beautiful autumnal tree with the snow on it. That is not something you see every day. I am glad the Peeps bounced back. 🙂

  5. It is good to see you post, I was worried.

  6. Mandy says:

    We lost power here too, but thankfully it came on last night. We lost a lot of trees in the forest and backyard. Let’s just say I did alot of thanking the Lord for strong upright trees Saturday! LOL
    Our neighbor had a tree fall so close to their house that it scratched up their siding.
    😮
    I hope that you get your power back soon and that you don’t lose any food.
    Keep the fam and aminalses warm.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

