The peeps have arrived!

The peeps began hatching out on Sunday. Three popped out at about the same time and then two more followed together 12 hours later. It’s been a full day and no more so we are probably done.

The hatch rate was not good, probably due to the young roosters, but the ones that did hatch popped out of their shells like it was nothing and they are very healthy, so I am pleased. I will attempt to sex them tomorrow. On to the pics…

This little guy is spinning in a circle breaking the shell. He is only about 5 minutes away from emerging here. You can just see his beak on the upper right where he has ripped through the membrane (the black line is the tear).

Here are the 3 that hatched about the same time. They are just about dry, but not fluffed yet. They are eggshausted at this point.

Fluffed!

My new little flock…

Checking out the kitchen rooster

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The peeps have arrived!

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    Daddy, dontcha love us? They are so adorable! Hope you get mostly females this time.

  2. Cylly says:

    How exciting! So cute with your kitchen roo. Keep us posted on these little bundle of fluff.

  3. Dan Shaw says:

    I need to go back and read about hatching chicks again. I feel like I’m missing a big part of being a true chicken farmer.

  4. Trish says:

    Wow! Sexing them! What talent! Be sure to put a splotch of magic marker (I would recommend blue 🙂 on the tops of male’s heads to see how correct you were.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I have not established that White Orpingtons can even be sexed (using the wing feathers). I tried last spring and they all looked the same to me….but then they all ended up being roosters, so maybe I was right! Lol!

  5. Beautiful Julie! Chicks are always so cute aren’t they! Keep doing that and I’ll be out there building a chicken palace yet! “:)

  6. Mandy says:

    Awwww! They are adorable!
    🙂 🙂
    5 healthy babies is better than none. I hope they are all girly girls.

  7. Mandy says:

    The kiddos are wondering what you do with the eggs that don’t hatch?
    They also want to know how you keep your kitties away from them.
    Inquiring minds. LOL

    • Julie Helms says:

      Mandy, we leave the eggs in the incubator for at least 3 extra days to make sure there are no latecomers. I also talk to them. If there is someone near hatching, they peep back at me through the shell. So when I am convinced there is no one else breaking through, we gently wrap them up and put them out with the trash.

      I have the peeps in a locking container so if a cat got in the room they could not get in the container. But we keep the door to the room closed to prevent any interaction if possible. A cat would gobble them in a heartbeat. We keep the container in our guest/school room.

      Good questions!

  8. Glory Lennon says:

    Julie, Hope you don’t mind, but I just linked this post to my story Where Your Treasure Lies–remember Josephine and Charlie who visited Wooly Acres a while back? She mentions her friend Abby again and her newly hatch peeps! 🙂

  9. We hatched our first peeps ever this year, actually the hen did, we tried a few years back with an incubator and had no luck, so got a pair of Cochins to do the job and they raised 9 chicks. Its great watching the new family

  10. Wow, I can never get enough peeps. I wonder why they have different colors as peeps, then turn all white?

    • Julie Helms says:

      I don’t know. Most white breed chickens have solid yellow chicks. These don’t. I did notice too with this batch, some look more yellow and some more silver. But they all will be pure white soon.

  11. Lisa says:

    I think if business becomes slow at the homeschool store you should charge admission to your zoo. Christmas bills are around the corner, you know 😉

Leave a Reply

