What WERE they thinking?

I am totally stealing this idea from crafte-blog: Business Life and Really Cool Crafting. She did a post on top search terms that landed people on her blog. And some of them are really funny… Click through to read her humorous post.

When you have a blog it shows you how people found you. Did they click on a link from Facebook or Twitter, or did they put a search term into Google that lead them to you? (It’s anonymous–doesn’t tell me who).

I have come across the same thing as the above-mentioned blogger. Most of the time it is obvious. Someone googled my name or Wooly Acres and it brought them to my blog. But sometimes there are terms that you just have to shake your head and say why did THAT bring them to MY blog?? Or WHY would someone even be searching for that?

Here is my list of head scratchers:

what is the inside of my eyelids supposed to look like
would it be ok to use astro turf in nesting boxes
stuff to make with pallets
wooly chicken
ย 

__________

That was just today….now searching back through the archives a bit… (Some I get why they are there, but they are funny. Some I do not get!)


wee wooly acres
feet around the wrong way
is it a good idea to put washer and dryer in mudroom
walk the hens
automatic garage door
4:20
chickens in car
goat wering a rain caot
haircut styles
“birth goop”
groundhog teeth marks

________

What is the most frequently searched term to arrive at my blog?

extreme home makeover etters pa wins with 126 searches.ย  Now a note to the producers of the show: that’s 126 searches–MOST frequent search for my blog, and they all got the name of your show wrong. Maybe a clue that it is too difficult of a name. The correct name which came in 2nd place with 111 searches to my blog was: extreme makeover home edition etters pa.

So that’s our fun look at Analytics for the day. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What WERE they thinking?

  1. Lisa says:

    oooh, oooh! That was my post-what are the inside of my eyelids supposed to look like!

    That last set is a riot!!! Find them and ask them what they were thinking, please!!

  2. Dan Shaw says:

    I have no clue how I found your blog unless it was through Clair’s site? Anyway, I was glad I did. At least I think it was a good thing??? No, it WAS a good thing. Who else would let a non-writer guest post on their blog?

  3. Glory Lennon says:

    Now that is bizarre! How do I see this on my blog? Blogger may be different from wordpress.

  4. lissa says:

    I like ‘goat wearing a rain coat’ – though I’m curious why it’s misspelled.

    what some people search for….

  5. Glory Lennon says:

    I just checked and mine are totally boring! Just searching for specific plants, all of which I obviously wrote about. There was one oddball though: buffalo falls in California. I did write about going to Buffalo, NY and seeing Niagara falls while there and I did speak about a trip or two to California but, buffalo falls in California? And I thought I was bad at geography!

  6. Mine only showed like 8 or 9 phrases, and most were boring. The most interesting one was “how to know when someone is not tweeting” – so I can’t even turn that topic into a blog post lol

  7. Mandy says:

    Birth Goop? Seriously????
    Who searches for Groundhog teeth marks???…okay, I take that back after last years garden fiasco I can understand that one.
    Chickens in car…..maybe they’re searching out if it’s legal to drive with chickens…how would you buckle them in anyways? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have no phrases, no nothin’ on my blog (I know a double negative)…but I’ve only been at this since the beginning of October.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Julie Helms says:

      Hi Mandy,
      Thanks for stopping by!
      The birth goop I do understand why it arrived here–I used that term in describing one of my lamb births. But the funny thing was that somebody searched on it instead of using a more scientific name. Lol!
      Give it time… you will collect some wacky ones once you have more words to misdirect the search engines with!

  8. Thanks for the link to my post! Not ironically at all, I found YOUR post while looking at my blog’s statistics. Ha. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

