Sunday Pictures

Today’s feature is the boy sheep at Wooly Acres. They were being especially animated when I took these pictures.

Saxon, 5 years old, head ram

Fern, a 6 month old lamb

Duncan, 2nd ram and 2 years old. He is Saxon's son (and grandson).

Frank, 6 month old twin to Fern. Saxon on the right.

Boys being silly….

Fern sucks the wire fencing

Vicious Animal!!!! Actually, Fern is sucking my hand while I'm trying to take pictures!

Frank, Fern and Saxon. Maybe Fern is teething--he's got his tongue hanging out again!

Saxon gives me a kiss!

This entry was posted in Sheep and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Pictures

  1. glorylennon says:

    Aww, they wuv you to pieces! 🙂

  2. Donna says:

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful, fun pictures. Love your sheep 🙂

  3. Kitt says:

    So cute! If you didn’t have the fence between you, what would they do? (Having experienced what happens when a baby bull becomes a teenaged bull, I’m all for good fences.)

    • Julie Helms says:

      Hi Kitt, the adult rams are very dangerous. My husband has been hurt by both, and quite seriously by Duncan (broken ribs). The fence, even a puny one, makes all the difference and they are total lover muffins. My boys are much friendlier than the girls…through the fence!

      • Julie Helms says:

        One thing I should add is that you can’t really tell how big they are in the pics. Saxon weighs about 350 lbs, so imagine a line backer hurdling himself toward you.

  4. Why is it always the boys that act up? LOL. What happened to Felicia? If it’s bad, don’t tell me. I remember her ordeal.
    Alex

  5. Cylly says:

    Ah rams … I’ve struggled to be impressed with sheep since I got butted by a small ram when I was about 8 y.o.!

  6. Cylly says:

    I do like your rams though … Far away with a fence and computer between us! Hehe. And the good stories help too. And all of Saxon’s prizes for lovely wool.

  7. Laura says:

    It helps if you are old and cowardly because you have sense enough to stay OUTSIDE the pasture and bring them cookies. In that situation, they are sweet and gentle. Saxon has gorgeous fleece, but I personally think that Duncan has him bettered six ways to Sunday. If she can just get a clean fleece off him this year, I think it will be quite amazing indeed. Of course, his best fleece (the hogget, the best fleece of any ram) would have been last year except for him being sick which caused a break in the wool…

    • Julie Helms says:

      Duncan is actually coming up on his third year. The hoggett went to the man who owned him before.

    • Cylly says:

      “Duncan has him bettered six ways to Sunday”
      Why is that? Is the double breeding from Saxon’s line? More of a good thing is better? Is it longer or has more crimp?

      • Laura says:

        It’s finer wool and has more luster to it, yet it comes in the same little crimped french fry pieces that Saxon has, I think it’s as long or longer staple, and as white as his. As he ages, Saxon’s is getting a tad coarser by comparison – not coarse but just not quite as fine. Duncan is so luscious! (Mind you, I had never even seen anything nearly as good as Saxon even now when I started spinning. It’s not like Saxon isn’t wonderful and has the ribbons to prove it!) So Duncan has great genes from Saxon and whoever his mom was must have been good combo.

  8. Laura says:

    Mymy, three years? How did that happen. I still think I’ll like his fleece best. We’ll see. (Did the guy know what he had??)

  9. Debbie says:

    Swweett Swweetttt Shheepp! They look sooo cuddly. What happened to Bat Boy (or what is his real name?). 🙂

  10. Laura says:

    I saw one of the lambs in the pasture and he looked good; didn’t notice which one. How is their wool doing? They have such good genes in them too! Anyone who buys them will be competition at Maryland next spring.

Leave a Reply

