Wooly Acres Reading Room

I thought I would share my opinion of the books I read. Once a week I’ll post some comments: the good, the bad and the ugly. I have been inspired to read by others’ book recommendations, so I’ll pass on the deed!


I own a homeschool store so there are kids’ books thrown into the list too–I seemed to have missed many classics when I was a teen, so I’m enjoying them now. I’ll start with one of those!

Shadow Spinner by Susan Fletcher (5th grade+; fiction) This is the story behind the story of 1001 Arabian Nights: Scheherezade must come up with a new tale for the Sultan every night or she will be killed in the morning. In Shadow Spinner, a young crippled girl with a knack for story telling comes to the harem just as Scheherezade is running out of stories. She must help find a new tale in order to save the queen. This story is filled with excitement and adventure. The author handles the alarming themes of cruelty in the harem, shunning of the crippled girl, and the looming execution perfectly for the younger audience.

_______________________________

(Graphics Credit: Free images from acobox.com)

This entry was posted in book reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wooly Acres Reading Room

  1. glorylennon says:

    Oh, that does sound interesting! I’ve always been quite taken by Scheherezade and her bravery. I hope I can find this…somewhere. Library, here I come!

  2. M.J. Fifield says:

    I missed a lot of classics as a teen too. I’m slowly (very slowly) working my way through some of them.

Leave a Reply

