NaBloWriMo

It is October the first, and I have accepted the challenge for National Blog Writing Month. The goal is to post something every day for October.

October 1. This summer's war on weeds was lost, as the goldenrod and bindweed overtake a bird feeder. Maybe I will do better next year!

Since I can’t be profound every day for a month 😀 there may be some posts with just pictures. Or chicken jokes.

Today’s prompt, coming from NaBloWriMo is:

“Why do you blog?”

I started last year in November (coming up on a one year anniversary!) as a way to share pictures that was more satisfying than emailing them to friends or posting on Facebook. As I worked with it I quickly realized it was a lot like scrapbooking. You pick out pictures that you want to represent what you are saying. And you say a blurb about it. It’s like an online scrapbook.

As time went by and I looked back over my posts I realized that it is also like a journal. Not as private as a diary, but a good record of events. I enjoy “flipping back” through the pages and remembering….  When it is 100° out I can go to the winter pages and cool down, or I can go back and look at what the animals looked like as babies just a few months ago.

Blogging has been very satisfying. And honestly, even if no one ever read it but me, it would still be satisfying, like looking over an old scrapbook or journal. But I do enjoy the interaction when people do read and comment.

So that is why I blog.

Until tomorrow…

Julie

This entry was posted in NaBloWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NaBloWriMo

  1. glorylennon says:

    Perfectly good reasons and similar to my own.

  2. Laura says:

    Well, you chose an exciting month (or they did) since you have leaves changing color, fruit ripening, cones to gather and a real change in temperature going on. My favorite month too!

  3. Julie, I am glad you are on board as well. 🙂 Chicken jokes? bring them on! Or, even if you re-cycle the peeps pics.

  4. Hart says:

    Hey, sheep pictures and chicken jokes will leave me VERY happy. I say have at it! Glad you’re participating!

  5. lissa says:

    I wouldn’t might hearing a chicken joke or two. ha ha.

    have a lovely day.

  6. Debbie says:

    Love this! And every day for a Month? Woooo Whooooo I say! As for the chicken jokes – uhhh didn’t we beat that dead horse earlier this week on FB? LOL Keep ’em coming. I double Dog Dare you. 🙂

  7. Cheryl says:

    I know what you mean about not caring if anyone else reads the blog. Mine is usually like an unmailed letter left lying about where anyone can look at it.

    I peeked at your fleeces, and they look luscious! I’ve got to get faster on the wheel, though, and spin my fiber stash WAY down before I can even consider getting a fleece.

Leave a Reply

