Seven Wild, Wacky and Weird Things

This is a challenge I saw on another blog and I thought it was a fun idea. You get to know something wild, wacky or weird about me, and hopefully you will tell me the same about you!

So here are the rules: write a list of seven unusual things that others might not know about you. Pretty easy! (I have a handful of family members as subscribers to this blog and they already know/share some of these, cause weird runs in families.) 🙂

********************************************************

1. My gr-gr-gr-uncle was 7’9″ tall. He was in the Guinness Book of World Records for Tallest Non-pathological Man (non-pathological means he didn’t have an illness–he was just tall.) His name was Angus MacAskill.

2. I have been employed at two jobs that required me to get a rabies vaccination.

3. My closest brush with fame is that Bill Cosby’s daughter, Erika, was my lab partner in AP bio and we dissected a fetal pig together.

4. I get ice cream headaches in my right armpit.

5. My second closest brush with fame was that my second grade Sunday school teacher  was the Six Million Dollar Man’s (Lee Majors) sister-in-law. And guess what…his real name isn’t Majors, it’s Yeary!

6. One of the weirdest things I did as a kid was to go someplace quiet and “listen to my heartbeat in my ears.”

7. In college, I was a biology major. At some point I realized I could never go into a field of biology that includes looking through a microscope. I have floaters in my eyes so bad I can’t distinguish them from the critters I was supposed to be looking at!

There you have it –the good, the bad and the ugly!  Feel free to share below (so I don’t look like the only fool).  😀

This entry was posted in game. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Seven Wild, Wacky and Weird Things

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    #4 made me laugh out loud! I’ll have to think of 7 things for me, but I won’t be able to top you!

  2. Dan Shaw says:

    1. My mom kept telling everyone I was a Professional Killer while I was in the Navy.
    2. I told everyone I was a Professional Killer after I retired from the Navy and started a Pest Control Business.
    3. Don’t bother me when I’m watching TV or reading a book. (It has something to do with empty boxes)
    4. I have a shrapnel wound on my leg from book camp. (The idiot next to me on the firing range hit the table behind us)
    5. I like to sing at the top of my lungs along with the golden oldies while in the car. (Yes I do get a lot of stares)
    6. I drank kerosene when I was 4 years old and had to get my stomach pumped out. What is bad is I did it twice in 3 weeks.
    7. I’ve never had anyone make a fool of me, I’ve always done a good job doing that myself.
    Note to Julie: Your famous now. You have a world wide blog.

  3. Lisa says:

    #1. As a kid I liked to rub my eyes in the dark and look at the patterns inside my eyelids. (do you like that one, Julie?)
    #2. I love to look at the front teeth of kittens. They are so cute! And feel the little bones in their baby tails… (I used to like to feel the ridgy roofs of cat mouths as a kid, too; I was an only child…)
    #3. I love to smell the inside of new books and fresh magazines. (I even share the joy with friends, don’t I, Julie!)
    #4. I dislike chimps and primates immensely. Their teeth especially gross me out.
    #5. I am severely claustrophobic and panic when I can’t move around. Don’t expect me to rescue you from an underground polar bear ice tunnel/cave if you get stuck inside. I completely panicked at Disney inside the Mission Space ride. I think they use that ride to train Seals and Green Berets.
    #6. I can’t do anything medical to my pets. My son’s fish that pineconed disgusted me, Julie had to put medicine in my dog’s ear for me, and I couldn’t give my friend’s cat IV liquids when it was sick and near death. I decided not to be a vet assistant when I realized there was no way I could stick a needle into the arm of an animal.
    #7. I personally don’t know anyone famous but I have a friend who has known more famous people than she is revealing…

    • Julie Helms says:

      I’m not sure I even know what kitten teeth look like! And yes, I’ve watched the cartoons on the back of my eyelids, too! And I smell books so that isn’t even hardly weird!

      OK #7 full disclosure… (if you were referring to me)
      I lived in a dorm with Laura Linney for two years, but she wasn’t famous then. I made salads with Colin Irving (World According to Garp and Dead Poet’s Society, and son of writer John Irving). I had a few conversations with Alex de Toulouse-Lautrec, grand nephew of the famous artist, Henri deT-L. Josh Ferrer, grandson of actor Jose Ferrer, was a friend. And Dan Bellow looked funny in English class walking around with his grandfather’s book (Saul Bellow, author) tucked under his arm. We read Henderson the Rain King by him. So I knew a lot of people who were related to famous people!

    • Dan Shaw says:

      My wife’s cat is mad at me. I just had to go and look at it’s teeth. It sure has stinky breath. Funerals don’t bother me as long as I’m not the guest of honor. Beth is just like you about being claustrophobic, yet she insists I don’t go in the crawl space unless she is home? .

  4. Glory Lennon says:

    Okay, I’m back!
    1. I was so terribly shy as a kid (still am but to a lesser degree) that people assumed I didn’t understand English or perhaps they just never noticed me. The things I heard!
    2. When young, I worried I wouldn’t be able to have kids…obviously needlessly.
    3. I assumed at 16 that I was an American citizen when my parents became naturalized. Imagine my surprise when I discovered I wasn’t! (No need to call the INS. I’m legally USA all the way and very proud of it!)
    4. I refuse to cry in front of people.
    5. I can’t pass a funeral procession without crying. (yeah, #4 conflicts with this one)
    6. I was always afraid to smile. I was ashamed of the gap between my front teeth.
    7. I didn’t go to college because I didn’t know what I wanted to do in life. Then I found Tom and knew.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I can relate to #5. Sometimes just an ambulance passing me is enough to set me off–and I sit there thinking “this is ridiculous!”

      BTW I never noticed said space between teeth!

  5. Debbie says:

    1) I also liked (and still do) rub my closed eyes to see the cool patterns and colors.
    2) Me too, Julie – but here is my take:
    I lived in a dorm with Laura Linney (but for one year) but she wasn’t famous then. I “invited” Colin Irving (World According to Garp and Dead Poet’s Society, and son of writer John Irving) to a dorm mixer, but joke was on me as another Debbie really wanted to invite him…. I was and currently am Friends on FB w/ Alex de Toulouse-Lautrec’s, grand nephew of the famous artist, Henri deT-L. I found Josh Ferrer, grandson of actor Jose Ferrer, soooo HOT back in the day. And I also knew Dan Bellow – he had funky curly black hair. 🙂
    3) My forefathers came over on the Mayflower and I am related to Winston Churchill by marriage.
    4) I LOVE Lilacs
    5) I am a hopeless romantic
    6) All my pets are rescues 🙂

  6. Cylly says:

    1.  MY 3rd great uncle was a giant too!  Oh, wait, that’s the same one as Julie’s!. ;). 
    Ok, another: 1.  My grandmother told me all her family came from England (except one Native American).  Sure enough, they ALL go back to England and ALL settled and stayed in New England.  ALL of them!  
    2.  My very minor brush with famous people: my first apartment was in a building Aerosmith where played in their early years.  VH1 came to film a piece on them while we lived there.  My husband held the door open for Steven Tyler once (only realized who it was after the fact).  He said he was much smaller in real life than he seems on-screen.  
    3.  I love to bury my head in a kitty’s purr!  It calms me.  
    4.  I cherish books, but especially old ones.  And I love collecting horse books I read at my elementary school library and town library (the Black Stallion series, Margarite Henry books, old hardcover Westerns, etc).  
    5.  Socks have lefts and rights.  It feels just as weird to put a left sock on a right foot as a left shoe on a right foot! Trust me on this! 
    6.  I hate getting my hands dirty or sticky.  When I was little I would insist on having my “‘ticky, ‘ticky” hands washed multiple times during meals.  I still put gloves on to garden.  
    7.  My jaws cramp when I eat fruit, just like my dad.  And pickles and orange juice make my brow tingle.

  7. Cylly says:

    PS Thank you Julie, this was fun!!

  8. Glory Lennon says:

    What I want to know is how you distinguish them? Embroider a R on the right one and a L on the left one? I’m totally confused! 😉

    • Cylly says:

      No embroidery. After wearing them a few times one side of the toes gets prominent (I always check before putting them on or else they feel stubby in the big toe). Then it is pretty obvious. Evidently only to me!? Hehe.

  9. I love this! I will blog my seven things. As if I need more distractions! lol

Leave a Reply

