Not-so-wooly Acres

I was getting settled in to write a new post for my store blog, when I was very rudely interrupted.   So now I am posting here first in attempt to get rid of the case of terminal willies that I have! I have never been more grossed out in my life…

After coming in from outside, where I surely picked up my hitchhiker, my hand brushed along my upper thigh. My pinkie encountered a nasty pinch which finally got my full attention. In the split second before I screamed, jumped a few feet, and flailed my hand, I saw IT attached to me…  four inches of a not-so-wooly, scaly, long-antenaed, pincered creature from a horror movie!

Here is where he landed on the hall floor. Look at those pincers!

Dave, my knight in shining armor aka bug remover, told me it was a hellgramite. Apparently they are good for fishing lures. After a quick Wikipedia search I learned they are called Eastern Dobsonflies once they get wings. Only the females pinch (the male’s pincers are too big so are only used to hold on during mating) and they only live 7 days once they get wings. However it spent several years as a larval hellgramite beforehand in water. I will be putting some goldfish in my pond ASAP so that nothing else like this every hatches out again….come to think of it, maybe that’s what happened to my last goldfish– it got et by one of these things!?!

Though they may be big enough to be a house pet they are NOT allowed in my house! And as I type this my finger is still bleeding. OK, not a lot, but there is blood.   Ewwwww.

Here is what they look like without wings. This one was not mine. This is from someone else's horror movie.

This entry was posted in pests and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not-so-wooly Acres

  1. Trish says:

    Ewwww. Never seen one, don’t want to see one and certainly do not want to be bitten by one. Poor you! Ewwww!!!!

  2. Laura says:

    I’ve never even heard of these things. They look dreadful! And anything that bites like that should be shot!

  3. Glory Lennon says:

    Wow, I don’t want one of those at my place. Nice of you to keep them at Wooly acres for me! Hope you’re not traumatized for life.

  4. Lisa says:

    I don’t think I could sleep for days after that occurrence! You have my sympathies!

Leave a Reply

