Guest Post: Dan (Part 8)

The temps here have been horrible. Seems we skipped directly into July and August weather. Most days it’s been in the mid to upper 90s and when it’s a cool day it dips all the way to 90/91. At my age I crawl back inside around noon and I look like I took a dip in the Koi Pond on the way in. It’s a good thing the washer and dryer are in the Mud Room.

I have a few surprise photos this week. The first is a Cope’s Gray Tree Frog. It is just hanging on the side of the chicken coop. I just love its little suction cups on the end of its toes. This frog will change colors from green, to gray to brown. It looks like it’s changing to a gray color to match the color of the shed.

The next photo is of an Eastern Cottontail sitting down in a hollow eating Kudzu. I didn’t know they liked Kudzu.

This last photo was taken as I was exiting the Mud Room early in the morning. The mommy rabbit was watching her offspring munch out at the end of the walkway. I was able to get within 5 feet of her taking pictures.

Beth and I always make it a practice to talk to the wild animals when we see them in the yard. We just stay in one place and don’t move towards them. I guess it’s starting to pay off cause the rabbits and the squirrels don’t run off anymore. Speaking of squirrels. We have real country squirrels. They are so skinny, shy and won’t eat any corn or peanuts we put out for them. Most times a squirrel will be a pest around a bird feeder. Ours won’t go anywhere near one. I actually put a ladder up a tree they love to frequent and put two ears of dried corn up for them and they ignored them. (They birds love it.)

OK, lets’ get to the chicken coop. I missed the deadline Beth imposed but things are moving along faster now. I managed to get around one side of the shed which included building a walkway from our front deck to the shed so we can visit the shed during bad weather and not have to worry about walking on the ground and looking for dog poop in the dark. The walkway was made from mostly junk wood I had under the shed.

I got the back of the shed done and the canopy over the second window where our two composting bins will be built.

OK, I know none of you are going to believe this but our Rooster Weathervane was purchased and put up about 5 years ago. Little did we know back then that would we ever have an actual chicken coop located under it.

Look for my articles on Home Pest Control at Self Reliance Works starting July 2nd. If you don’t subscribe to Clair’s newsletter you are missing a lot and not just my articles but Glory’s and Julie’s also.

__________________________

Dan Shaw, future chicken farmer and entrepreneur.  http://www.diyyardandhome.com 

For related articles see:

Dan: Part 7

Dan: Part 6

Dan: Part 5

Dan:Part 4

Dan:Part 3

Dan:Part 2

Dan:Part 1

This entry was posted in Guest post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Post: Dan (Part 8)

  1. Julie Helms says:

    Dan, tell us about the artwork– I don’t have artwork on my coop (unless you count spider webs!) Your shed is just amazing and solid.

  2. Dan says:

    The artwork was accomplished back in our crafting days, when we had time to do things like that. I had remolded an unfinished basement that was half garage and I kept one of the garage door set of windows so Beth and I could paint them. After we where done we had no idea where to put it so we put it on the side of the shed where we could see it from the deck. You can’t see it in the photo but right above the window is an old push-pull saw that is about 5 feet long we found in and old barn that was half collapsed.

  3. Glory Lennon says:

    According to my brother Kudzu has medicinal properties, (Don’t know for sure, will have to do some research on that) so maybe your bunny is sick and he’s treating himself.
    Welcome to SRW!

  4. Cylly says:

    Sounds like the weather is perfect only for writing & posting blogs while sitting inside. Thank you for the update & peek at your non-domestic critters. The weathervane is perfect! Will you have a roo for the hens or will the weathervane be the only one?

  5. Dan says:

    Not sure about the medicinal qualities of Kudzu but it is eatable. We plan on trying it sometime this summer. The jelly you can make with the flowers is simple to do and we will try that also. We are debating on having a rooster. We can always borrow one from down the street but that’s not the same as having the critter crowing in the wee hours of the morning.

Leave a Reply

