WoolyAcres gets a haircut!

All the rain has done its job. Our timothy/clover pasture has grown to over three feet in some places, so it was time for Farmer Dave to get on his old tractor and mow it down.

My husband gets on his Allis-Chalmers 1949 dinosaur of a tractor to start mowing.

This is high ground where the grass is the shortest. It's much longer "down back".

We need to find someone to hay this for us-- it would be about 4x more than we need to sustain the animals through the winter. This is just a waste.

The tractor disappears into the pasture--just Dave's head can barely seen...

This entry was posted in hay and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WoolyAcres gets a haircut!

  1. Lisa says:

    I love that first pict of Dave! GREEN ACRES is the PLACE to BE!

    Your land looks HUGE in these pix, too!!

  2. Laura says:

    Oh my goodness, can you get that stuff baled?

  3. Dan says:

    That’s what I need to do my lawn, a bush hog. Or just farmer Dave to come and mow it for me. LOLOL

  4. Glory Lennon says:

    Hmm, Kenny Chesney’s song comes to mind. She thinks my tractor’s sexy! 😉 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWu4aynBK7E

  5. Trish says:

    You have no idea how this is killing me. 😦 I am so in need of hay. Pastures are naked here.

  6. Wow, I used to have the IDENTICAL tractor! Lucky Dave! The Allis is an excellent machine! Nice mowing job, let it dry and bale it, somebody will buy it from you….

Leave a Reply

