Garden Diary 5/20/11

Dear Diary,

It rained again today…

We just had a momentary break in the clouds so I ran out to takes some pics of life progressing. And since the world is supposed to end tomorrow by someone’s calculations, I figured I better not wait. 🙂

66° F, partly sunny, partly rainy, partly overcast, partly windy…

Iris

What’s bloomin’:

Iris in front of a bunch of Peonies getting ready to bloom

My Fourth of July tomatoes on track for early fruit!

I always thought this was Russian Sage, but it looks different than pictures of that. It is being overtaken by a Giant Hosta--the others were swallowed up and this is the last plant of it left.

These are kind of funny. It is a pot of bunching onions I grew from seed last year. At the end of the year I tossed the pots aside as trash and forgot about them. This spring I was pulling out pots for planting and found these onions had come back and very strongly! They are blooming now. I'm not sure what to do with them as I've never had them a second year but will just keep putting them in our salads!

Newly planted between the raindrops:

We got 3 each Duke and BlueCrop Blueberries.

Hard to see in the shade but this is a new grape plant--a white seedless. Now that the Concords on either side have leafed out I see I need to do some trimming back.

The pole and bush beans are up. Notice in the lower left of this picture is a volunteer cherry tomato coming up. I counted about ten so far. These are the ones I rip out every year leaving just 3 or 4 (still WAY too many tomoatoes) but there was such an outcry when I said that, that I may try to find a pace to transplant them so they can be free and untormented by me!

What all this rain has done:

My Jack-in-the-Pulpits are monster-sized this year. This group is about two feet tall! (Also showing, though nothing is blooming at the moment, Lily-of-the-Valley, Astilbe, Fern, Bleeding Heart, Daylily and unwelcome Spearmint)

The Hosta are gi-normous and taking over everything.

Last year a friend gave me some unnamed grass to plant in a spot where nothing will grow. It is the south side of the house, near the macadam of the driveway so it fries most plants. The chickens are also a real "help" in this garden as they love the dry dirt for their dust baths. So I put in a few shoots of this grass which looked pathetic and sickly all last year...Maybe there is hope this year! (In front are some Rudebeckia that didn't bloom last year but maybe will this year.)

Our lawn is shin-high and looks like it should be a pasture. Our pasture is past knee-high and looks like a jungle! Colin, Toffee and Ellie are looking over to see what I am doing and does it have anything to do with food? Can you see their babies? There are 5 of them there...nope, neither can I! By the way, the nice short lawn in the background belongs to the neighbor--apparently it doesn't rain non-stop over there....

Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Garden Diary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Garden Diary 5/20/11

  1. Trish says:

    So exciting to watch the flowers that I have blooming down there. Gives me hope! Love your garden blog! But self seeding cherry tomatoes…….. just doesn’t seem right!

  2. Laura says:

    Oh my, those hosta REALLY need to be divided to get back their nice round shape. That probably would make five or six very large plants or 10 nice plants that won’t need dividing for a few years. That’s why our family has so many of that variety! I still love them. Hosta undulata mediopicta (formerly Hosta undulata variagata and before that Hosta fortunei).

    I like the way the Jack in the pulpit stands up high!

  3. I really enjoyed your pics, Julie! I have wild Jack-in-the-pulpits, they’re about 14″ high at best. Nice pasture by the way, I like your white lawn decorations.
    By the way, with a bit of careful pruning, you can have a dozen grapevines in no time, last year’s wood clipped off at a bud with a bit of rooting hormone on it will get them growing in no time. We started a dozen this year, every one of them grew, and some already have flowers (grapes) on them.

  4. Dan says:

    Looks like a bunch of weeds to me and they would get mowed if they weren’t in the garden proper. LOLOLOL Seriously, that is one of the reasons Beth does the weeding, I can’t tell the difference between a flower and a weed. Plus she does likes to weed. I’ll prepare the beds, dig the holes and even do some planting and make sure everything is watered when needed (as directed). I was thinking of taking pictures of our flowers for my guest host but I have no clue what most of them are. Just that the look nice and give our yard some class.

  5. Glory Lennon says:

    I think that is Blue sage or meadow sage…not certain though. Would have to get a better look at the leaves. Volunteer tomatoes of all sorts pop up in the compost pile all the time…plus pumpkins. I think that might be a fountain grass, but again not very sure. All I know is it’s nice to see it all green and blooming.

  6. Julie Helms says:

    @Mom, do you need some of that hosta back? What about some Concord grapes if I root them as Ray suggested? Your wildlife would sure like them!

    @Glory, I will take a close-up and send you for sage identification.

    @Ray, I’m going to give it a try with the grapes. I had no idea it was that easy!

    @Dan, you could take pictures for your guest host and then we could all play a guessing game! 🙂

    • Laura says:

      Sure, I’ll take some hosta – it can fill in where the garden is declining.

      I’m thinking that purple plant might be a salvia – there are dozens of varieties. Russian sage blooms late in the summer in my garden and is very whispy looking and tall – 4′ or so.

  7. Great tour Julie, I love seeing other peoples’ gardens. Keep up the great blogging!

  8. Debbie says:

    Can Hosta be happy as a potted porch/balcony plant? I could use something on my new deck area and have been working on ideas to make that space cozy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

