Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival 2011

On Mother’s Day I went to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival with my mother 🙂 . It was a stunningly beautiful day and the place was just a treat with all the sights, smells and sounds of the vendors, musicians, concessions, craftsmen and of course the sheep!  My camera battery died prematurely so I have shamelessly borrowed some of my mom’s pics…

A neat vendor display for wool socks. (Photo L.Sawyer)

The Colors! Dyed wool roving ready to spin.

The Crafts! I fell in love with this sheepy designed ceramic ware. (Photo L. Sawyer)

The Critters! I thought MY lamb had funny ears--this guy looks half rabbit! It is a Border Leicester specially bred from English stock to get those great ears.

The Music! A Celtic group played beautifully.

This is from the Fleece Show and Sale. We dropped off fleeces on Friday and when we checked on Sunday they were all sold. They had about 600 entered for sale and maybe 100 left by the time we got there.

Nonny petting a massive sheep that was SO soft.

Aren't they cute!

A Shropshire with interesting markings.

Look at that... perfect face, perfect proportions...I guess I am very bonded to Corries!

"Come visit Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival next year--Baaaa!" (Photo L. Sawyer)

This entry was posted in Sheep and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival 2011

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    Tom and I love Celtic music. Sorry we missed it! Love those colors, but that isn’t yarn yet? How much money for one of those…skeins? Is that what they are called or not yet? Wow, I would so like to learn how to spin wool! I would like a sheep around the yard just to soften my hands…especially after a long day in the garden. 😉

    • Julie Helms says:

      Glory, the top picture is skeins ready to knit. The second picture is roving ready to be spun–I don’t think they call them skeins, but this isn’t my thing. (MOM!) I have no idea what they cost. How was that for helpful! 🙂

    • Laura says:

      Sorry I didn’t see the question about the wool. It’s in the form of roving, which has been combed (in various fashions) so that the fibers are all parallel with each other so that it will be spun from one end into worsted woolen yarn. It’s all ready to spin! If you want woolen yarn, the wool is carded into rollags (rolls of wool) and then spun from the middle so it’s full of curls and air – much lighter weigh, cozy (because of all the air incorporated as insulation) but less sturdy than worsted. (More than you wanted to know?)

      A skein is what you have after you have spun the wool into yarn, then wound it on a niddy noddy, or over your wrist and elbow, or over a reel or whatever
      into coils – depending on the size of what you wind it on, it gives a way to measure it. I generally was my wool after it has been made into skeins, then when it’s dried, I wind it into a centerpull ball to work from.

      The cost of the roving or yarn depends on the fiber, how much it’s been processed etc. It can be VERY expensive once it’s been combed, combined with other fibers, dyed etc. It’s more expensive, generally, than buying the yarn commercially spun and it can be $50 or more for special hanks of it. I have roving in my stash that I find is too expensive to commit to spinning. (Dumb, huh?) I wonder what spell I was under when I bought it. Nothing I make could be worth it, so I just fondle it occasionally.

  2. Dan says:

    NO, no matter how neat and fun it looks to go to something like that I am not going to go. If I did we would be trying to squeeze a few sheep in with the chickens. I’m already thinking about rabbits based on Julie’s article about them.

  3. Debbie says:

    That Corrie also has bat ears… She doesn’t have anything on your little batboy – well, except the non scruntched nose…lol

    Those colors of the roving are amazing. I may break down and learn to spin when I land in Pittsburgh!

    Also – here info about roving.. and it seems to just be called “roving”. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roving

    • Julie Helms says:

      Your right, Deb, the ears are a little forward facing but the proportion is more normal so you don’t get the feeling they will start flapping for take-off any minute! (Did you ever see Dumbo?) But I took that picture after looking at those half-kangaroo things for awhile so they seemed plenty petite!

  4. r.a. kukkee says:

    I would have liked to attend that festival—very informative and educational, and the pics of the sheep remind me of my own. Thanks, Julie!

Leave a Reply

