Felicia’s Very Scary Adventure

This is the story of Felicia’s very scary adventure….

Felicia

All was well in the barnyard last night at dusk when we last checked on the animals for the evening. Later into the night I was watching the Breaking News on TV that Usama Bin Laden had been killed. Suddenly I could hear over the TV the bleating of a sheep. This is a very unusual occurance at night. So I grabbed a flashlight and went to see what was wrong.

Ellie was standing near the middle of the pasture just bawling at the top of her lungs. She began running back and forth, zigzagging. Then she would stop and call again. I knew right away that she was searching for her lamb, Felicia, but that isn’t usually a big deal..somebody just wandered away a bit.

I began a methodical search of the pasture, sweeping the flashlight back and forth. I did notice pretty early on that I wasn’t hearing the lamb return her mother’s call. So I wanted to make sure to check every inch in case she was injured or fallen in a fox hole.

After I covered the pasture once (with Ellie following me around, it was so sad), I came inside and woke up Dave and together we went over the pasture again (we are quite soaked at this point) and then checked the property outside the fencing and the edges of the neighboring properties.  Nothing.

About 5 acres of fields to check in the dark with flashlights. But she wasn't anywhere to be found.

Very discouraged we went to bed around 2 AM. The next morning Dave got up first and checked the field again. Then I decided to drive around the property to the far side and look into the fox’s den there to see if there was any sign of her. I didn’t think there was any way a fox could take her but I had to look. After 20 years of raising sheep I have never lost one to a predator. But the den is in a wooded area so maybe any predator would have headed back there.

Well the den and most of that area is submerged right now. So I drove home very dejected. Ellie was in the barnyard, still bellowing.  I went out to talk to her. I could see her bag was very engorged, so not only is she missing her lamb, but she is physically very uncomfortable.

Then I heard a little bleating. It sounded like a baby lamb. Turning around I saw one of the goat kids come running out of the barn from where I heard the noise.  I turned back again to Ellie but then there was that sound again. As I turned to look this time the other goat kid came bounding out, but I was suspicious because it just didn’t sound like a goatie sound. Just one glance in the right direction and I was looking down that long crack between the door and the wall…there was something in there and it made that tiny little noise again!

The narrow white slit down the center of the picture is the crack she had wandered into and gotten wedged between the sliding door and outside barn wall.

I ran inside to get Dave. He pulled this massive door out a bit so we could reach in and grab her. Felicia was very warm, but obviously hungry as she went running to her Mama. I herded them into the lambing pen so they could reunite and rest. She nursed and nursed and nursed and nursed….   🙂

Ellie and Felicia (and ME!) are very relieved. All is well with the world.

This entry was posted in Sheep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Felicia’s Very Scary Adventure

  1. Laura says:

    Praise God for getting you to look at that tiny space where she was stuck! So glad she’s out and doing okay.

  2. Dan says:

    Did you figure out how in the world she got in there to begin with? At least she is safe and sound. Now, if it was Dave lost out in the pasture, would you have spent half the night looking for him in the rain??? LOLOLOL

    • Julie Helms says:

      It’s wider on one side where she entered. Then she would have walked toward the light which was the narrower end. Once down there, it never occurred to her to back up. Sheep may not be considered overly brilliant. 🙂

  3. Alexandra Heep says:

    … and they say animals have no emotion! Then why was mama sheep so upset when she could not find her baby!

  4. Fran Kocher says:

    What a night you-all had. So glad for the happy ending! Hope you get a better night’s sleep tonite!

  5. Julie Helms says:

    Just to clarify… it wasn’t raining. I was soaked up past the knee from the wet grass and also being ankle deep in water in parts of the pasture. And dumb me I was wearing sneakers, not boots. We sure do need to dry out here. Even the lawn is getting so long and still too wet to mow.

  6. Trish says:

    I love happy endings!!!!!!!

  7. Stan says:

    Awww…. Ellie is a good mommy…

  8. Glory Lennon says:

    What a harrowing experience for one so young! Ellie is a good mommy. So glad she and her baby are together again! 🙂

  9. wow, last year we had the same thing happen.. sort of. it was a newborn lamb. We didnt even know it was born.. we knew the ewe had one lamb and kept hearing baaing when we were in the barn and thought it was an outside lamb but it didnt sound right, finally we checked better – it was a brown lamb too so hard to spot, but we got it out.

Leave a Reply

