Garden Diary 4/26/11

One week later and there are lots of changes. One thing I discovered recording this is that I am paying more attention to the blooms. I have had seasons where I sort of notice spring is blooming and then the next time I notice somehow summer is upon me. This really makes me focus on spring, my favorite season!

Today is hot at 77°, forecast to be 81°. Partly sunny.   Here’s what blooming this week at Wooly Acres!

Old Fashioned Lilac

Dogwood

Apple blossom

Pear blossom. Unfortunately we will be taking down this tree as it has fire blight.

Peach blossom, another tree at the end of its life.

Redbud

Not flashy, but I thought it was funny seeing 3 stages of growth right next to each other. This is a Jack-in-the-Pulpit.

A fern unfurling

Bleeding Heart made tremendous progress since last week.

This entry was posted in Garden Diary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Garden Diary 4/26/11

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    Oh, how gorgeous! I do so envy life in the valley.

  2. Dan says:

    I thought Spring just means its time to start mowing the yard every week again. Our dogwood and cherry tree have already leaved so the pretty blooms are all gone. Last year we had a late freeze and it killed a lot of the early blooms and we noticed a shortage of leaves on a lot of the trees during the summer. This year we didn’t have that problem.

  3. Trish says:

    You seem light years ahead of us………………….. Just gorgeous!!

  4. Laura says:

    Wow, you are ahead of us too. How did that happen? We have lilacs budding as well as dogwoods. The Cleveland Pears are blooming along with the crabapples. I don’t see the local redbuds blooming. I would think we were the same latitude and altitude, but maybe not. Five miles with a little mountain in between…

  5. Laura says:

    P. S. I am envious of the bleeding heart – that type didn’t like it here but the summer blooming ones survive. I have a ton of those ferns unfurling if you need some more. And do you have any more of those little wild white violets a kind grandchild might dig up for me???

    • Julie Helms says:

      I will trade you some ferns for violets. Would you like dark purple (as pictured) or white with slight purple tinged? I found one patch of the white yesterday while mowing.

  6. Sue Martin says:

    Hey, Julie! May I have some of those white violets too? I could trade you some rose-of-sharon, or I think I might have a pussywillow rooted. Your friend, Sue 🙂

  7. Lisa says:

    I have nothing to trade-I am going to being planting my flower bed soon. 😉 But, as always I love your redbud.
    Bleeding hearts are one of my favorites.
    Enjoy your favorite season; it’s been gorgeous out!

Leave a Reply

