Brianna birthed big baby boys!

Last night around midnight, Brianna lambed. We have been anticipating this for WEEKS because she was huge around the middle and her milk bag hot red and swollen. I joked with my daughter earlier in the day that based on the size of that milk bag either Brianna was going to give birth to triplets or a cow. Since there is no history of triplets in this line of sheep we have, and a cow would be unlikely 🙂 then it was a mystery. (warning: very graphic birthing pictures)

At the start of labor. This is the largest milk bag I have ever seen on any sheep ever.

Brianna’s labor was relatively long for a sheep and went on for several hours. A huge lamb was born. She is not known for large lambs, so this definitely could explain her “enhanced” appearance. An hour later she began pushing again. First something that looked like a huge bloody water balloon came out. Having never seen a bag of waters come out quite like that it was disturbing. Then she sat on it, bursting it and two feet could be seen, so I knew we had another lambie coming.

For the next push she delivered half of the baby. Unfortunately, it was the wrong half. The front feet and head should come out first. This is the biggest part and the rest slithers out afterwards. But now I was looking at the tail, rump and hind legs hanging there as mom walked around, now caught on the larger head and shoulders still inside. Time is of the essence as the umbilical cord becomes cut off in the birth canal, depriving the lamb of oxygen and triggering the first breath–not a good scenario when the head is still inside the watery bag.

I gently pulled the hind end of the lamb while Brianna pushed-very cooperatively-and within a few second the second lamb slid out with about a gallon of fluid. He was gasping and coughing so he had taken that first breath too early but it seems to have cleared up without incident. He was just as big as the first lamb–two amazing big boys. I do not have any pics of the breech as I was in controlled panic state (sounds like a contradiction!) so I had abandoned the camera. Here is the rest of the birth on film…

Head and front feet are visible for lamb #1

Umbilical cord still attached to mama, covered in yellow birth goop (thats the proper latin name!)

Lamb #1 is dried off and watching mom going into labor again. She stretches her neck and curls her lip with the effort.

I am not greeted with a baby, but this huge watery sac that looks blood filled. I have never seen it like this before.

Thankfully when that balloon-like thing popped there were feet underneath. If I had been paying attention I would have noticed they were facing the wrong way.

Brianna cleans up lamb #2 after I helped her deliver it and clear its airway. This is about ten minutes later.

The next morning. Notice the squinty eye. It is entropian (turned in eye-lid) and I am awaiting the vets arrival as I write this. He will need to put a stitch in to open it.

This entry was posted in Sheep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Brianna birthed big baby boys!

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    My goodness! Visiting Wooly acres is like actually visiting Wooly acres! I think you know what I mean! How exciting and nerve wracking, I would imagine. Hope Brianna’s doing well and her babies. 🙂

  2. Trish says:

    Phew….. Big+Baby+Breech = a miracle

  3. Dan says:

    “controlled panic state” good one, I would have probably done the typical male thing and opted to stay in the waiting room. You knew what to do and how to do it and did it. I hardly call that any state of panic.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I may have known what I had to do but I had never done it before! 95% of the time we miss the birth altogether and just come upon mama with her new lambs. I am so thankful to have caught this one to have rescued the fellow. BTW thats why all the birth pics– cause I never catch it!

      • Dan says:

        That’s why this blog and other like it are so very important. They spread the knowledge you and others have. Having knowledge is the key factor in avoiding panic. Acting on that knowledge in times of crises is a form of bravery. Many people have the knowledge and still panic.

      • Cissy Daughtrey says:

        It was so wonderful that you were able to catch this Julie! Graphic pics yes, but very nice educational material for us home schoolers! Thanks!

  4. Lisa K says:

    I plan to visit your homeschool store tomorrow so I am planning to meet them! What a big mama she was-I bet she is relieved. Cute little baby! Do they have names?

  5. r.a. kukkee says:

    You did well not panicking . Breech births are common and the breech babies usually arrive and survive if handled correctly and timely. You did GREAT! Congratulations!

  6. When my own daughter was born she was 10lbs 1 oz, I sympathize with Brianna.

  7. Kathie Blazi says:

    Thanks Julie for the wonderful pictures. Brittany and I can’t wait to come visit the new babies. You did a great job!!

  8. GiftedBirth says:

    Hi Brianna, love these images! I was wondering if I have permission to reuse the image of mother an lamb with umbilical cord attached? I will credit this page. Thanks 🙂

  9. GiftedBirth says:

    I just realised I accidently called you Brianna in my first message! Nice of me to ask mother for permission too I suppose…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

