In a Land of Giants

It is becoming very obvious with time that we have a very small guy in the bunch. I hatched a few eggs for a friend from her Araucana (green-egg layers). The eggs were actually larger than mine.

The Araucana eggs are the the light green ones.

But the one peep that successfully hatched from these jumbo eggs, though starting off the same size, is now 1/2- 1/3 the size of the others!

Notice the little brown guy on the right.

Upon further investigation, though his mother was clearly a normal chicken-sized Araucana (because of the large egg), the father had to have been a bantam. And sure enough there are bantam roosters running around my friend’s farm.  She thought they were too small to reach for breeding but we have proved otherwise!

Here at a couple days old he is the same size!

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In a Land of Giants

  1. Dan says:

    Where’s a will there’s a way. Is it a myth that bantam’s are kind of feisty?

  2. Julie Helms says:

    No, definitely not a myth. What they lack in size, they compensate for in ‘tude! Males anyway. Someone with banties should chime in because I’m not sure about the females.

  3. r.a. kukkee says:

    Bantams are “little, but TOUGH”. They start out smaller, and stay smaller–but feisty isn’t the word for it, they’ll take on anyone, any time. We had some that kept the other chickens in line. They have feathers on their feet, and they lay both blue and green eggs–no extra charge !

  4. Dan says:

    So it wouldn’t hurt to have a few bantams in the mix is what I’m sensing. After reading up on bantams it seems they can have a short life cycle and what one would want is a true breed bantam for best results? If it sounds like I don’t know what I’m talking about then you would be right, but a stupid person only gets smarter but consulting and learning from the more experienced.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I hope a bantam owner can help you here. I just don’t have bantams or bantam experience. Not only do I prefer full-sized chickens but I always go for the heavies, cause I like ’em BIG!

  5. Glory Lennon says:

    That little guy does look fierce! Wouldn’t want to met up with him down some dark alley between the barn and the hen house! He’ll peck me to death!

  6. Laura says:

    I’m guessing that the hen decides the size of the egg since people we know have only banties and they have tee-tiny eggs.

    • Julie Helms says:

      Yes, definitely so. Interestingly this chick hatched at a regular chicken size– he filled the egg completely. But he hasn’t hardly grown since then, though he is obviously developing with feathers and such at the proper rate.

  7. Sue says:

    O.K. Julie, you know how much I hate to hunt-and-peck on this computer but I couldn’t resist talking about my baby! Yes, his father has a big ego. His name is Pierre and he is a black Frizzle (who didn’t frizzle) bantam. My bantams are mixed in with my larger birds. When my larger roosters mount the girls Pierre comes right over to get his turn (usually he sneaks in between them. Poor girls!). Often the larger roosters will step aside to let him mount first. Bizarre! I have several bantam roosters for sale if anyone is interested.

    • Julie Helms says:

      Ahhh, I didn’t know you knew the exact casanova involved here! So this little guy is a Frizzle/Araucana. He does not appear to have any frizzling going on. He looks pretty much all Araucana. Though he does look a bit stripey on his wings.

  8. Trish says:

    Banties ROCK!!!! lol Congratulations, Julie, on your banty babies.
    5 banties to one big chicken, but only 3 eggs to the big girl’s one, so more egg per lb of bird! My roos are Japanese and very docile. Old English are the fiesty ones and don’t like to share. My silkies were somewhere in between.

Leave a Reply

