Got a new toy: Incubator fun!

 

Eggs in the automatic turner.

I have incubated eggs before but one of the BIG hassles is turning the eggs four times a day. So I decided to splurge and get an automatic egg turner for my ‘bator. Since they are sort of standing up, I can fit a lot more in now too–normally 2 dozen, now 41!

All the brown eggs are from my White Orpingtons. In the lower right are green/blue eggs that are from Aracuanas belonging to my friend, Sue.

I am also hoping that the turner will improve hatch rates. I almost always got 50% hatch rate exactly every time. We’ll see if this improves it.

So I will report back after 21 days of 101 degrees!

This entry was posted in eggs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Got a new toy: Incubator fun!

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    wow, in 21 days you’ll be hearing cheep-cheep-cheep, won’t you? Would love to see that!

  2. Trish says:

    OOwwww. Fun! I want peeps too!

  3. Trish says:

    Does it have a fan as well??

  4. Dan says:

    Males taste just as good as females (chicken wise). We are in the process of building our first chicken coop. I got the easy part, my wife has a friend who is going to teach her how to off the chicken all the way to getting it ready for the freezer or pot. I’m a chicken when it comes to doing that. I’ll believe it when I see it though, this is the same women who shrieks after you cut a fishes head off and it keeps open and closing it’s mouth.
    LOLOLOL

    • Julie Helms says:

      Excellent point about the eatin’ of roosters. I’m just looking for more laying hens at them moment. Have pity on your wife…chickens expire with a LOT of activity–lot more than that fish! Tell her to tie them to something first. The first time we did it and did not tie them to something we were retrieving them from 20, 30, 40 feet away, under cars etc.

      • Dan says:

        Thanks, that’s a good tip and I’ll be sure to tell her. Though not about the extracurricular activity, I’ll let her be surprised about that. Though we will be a long way from that. We are getting 4 hens (hens just started laying a month ago so they are on the upswing and not the downward side of life) and a rooster to start with though the coop will hold much more. (8 roosts or more) Where did you get the auto turner and who makes it?

      • Julie Helms says:

        My incubator is an absolute basic model, styrofoam, from TSC (Tractor Supply Co.) –Little Giant Model 9200. On the shelf next to them were separate egg turners by the same company. I bought my ‘bator about 8 years ago and the turner last week so apparently they aren’t quickly updated!

  5. Lisa says:

    Julie, did you buy this at the local TSC? Is it kept in your home? I’ll have to see it.
    How many are yours and how many are Sue’s?
    Yay-you’re more than officially back in the chicken business now!! NMM! (no more martens)

    • Julie Helms says:

      TSC in York, but I imagine they are available everywhere. Yes, it is in the school/guest room…. did you want to bring the kids over?
      Sue’s are the 4 green ones.
      Do you mean fishers….haven’t seen one and the chickens remain intact except the one that crossed the road at the wrong moment! All good for now…

Leave a comment