Spring Peeps

Here is this spring’s batch of cuties.  I have given up my dreams of reproducing my pure flock of White Orpingtons. Since I can only hatch out roosters it seems, I was forced to go elsewhere. So I have added some color to the flock with Rhode Island Reds and Plymouth Barred Rocks from the local feed store.

They are about a week old now.

Barred Rocks

Rhode Island Reds

Funny action shot--she's a few inches in the air. The red light on the camera (before the flash) startled her.

Between the two Barred Rocks (black) is a White Rock (light yellow). We lost a Barred Rock the first day and the feed store replaced it with the White.

I am trying to socialize them a bit by holding them while I watch TV. This is the White Rock and a Rhode Island Red.

It should be interesting to see if I can tell the difference between this new White Rock and my current flock of White Orpingtons. Both are large breeds. The Rocks lay brown eggs and the Orpingtons lay tinted (lighter browns of various shades). And the Orpington is supposed to be a clearer, purer white.  We’ll see!

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring Peeps

  1. Trish Avery says:

    WAAAAH! I want baby chicks, too!!!!!!! WAAAAH!
    Love your cuties and loved hearing the peep peep peep. LOVE that you caught the chick in mid-scare! Also appreciate more variety at the Helms estate. :) Need one of each kind, don’tcha?

  2. danrshaw says:

    Is it easier to integrate the young ones into the flock when you free range them? They are all so cute and makes me want to increase my flock NOW. LOLOL I’ve been letting my girls out into the dogs area every so often. I have one girl that will not leave the pen. She came out one time and something spooked her and she hasn’t come back out since. She follows them all to the gate but then turns around and stays put. She runs and hides and when I enter the pen. Not sure what breed she is but she looks like an old man.

    • Julie Helms says:

      I’ve only raised free-range so I’m not sure if it is easier, but I generally have no problems. They get a little picked on, but nothing that draws blood or damages. Just an ordering of the new comers.

  3. danrshaw says:

    I looked up the hen that is shy and it’s a Faverolles (cream colored). Their description says they are Quirky; loner; submissive and like confinement. Don’t think I’ll be getting any more of them. They lay medium size eggs and compared to the Barred Rocks and so their eggs are puny looking. I always wondered who was cheating me on egg size. LOLOL

  4. Cute chicks! After chickens lay for a year, they will moult and after that, will lay for another year, and then moult again. After about 3 or 4 cycles, they will still lay after moulting again but seem to start slowing down.chicken soup!

Leave a Reply

