My Day Job– It’s all about the boxes!

I thought I would share with you what I do when not hatching eggs, feeding sheep or writing blog posts.

I have a homeschool curriculum store located on our property. We sell new and used curriculum. The used items are brought in on consignment. People just bring me boxes of books. It’s like Christmas every day. I still get the same excitement wondering what is in each box!

Here is what it looks like when they bring me their books:

Here is what it looks like after I sort and price:

And here are the books after they are shelved:

During my peak season (June-August) I have gotten in as many as 40 boxes/week.  I hire help for the summer as that is more than I can process (Thanks Lisa and Tina!).  Now we are in the off-season. This month I have been averaging 10 boxes per week. It still keeps me hopping but isn’t quite as overwhelming.

This entry was posted in PA Curriculum Exchange and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Day Job– It’s all about the boxes!

  1. Glory Lennon says:

    And do you sell as much as you get in? It seems you’re getting so much in! You must run of of room and also you must get some oddball books which never get sold. What was the strangest thing you ever took in?

    • Julie Helms says:

      I get in a bit more than I sell, so the bottom of the heap stuff gets put into the free section periodically. Also, publishers update editions constantly making the old ones obsolete and worthless–that always frees up a but of shelf space. Then every year or two I add another few book cases. I still have room for more. But overall the “exchange” concept works very well (bring in your old stuff and get new stuff).

    • Julie Helms says:

      Strangest item….that is fodder for a new post (and boy am I in need of fodder this month!) so I won’t answer that now….look for it in a few days maybe! :-)

  2. Laura says:

    I think you need to come over to my house with your shelving elves and organize my house… please.

  3. Julie, I do have to COMPLIMENT organized genius when I see it! That takes a lot of patience and dedication. I’m impressed!

  4. Mandy says:

    We LOOOOOOVE your store. Your free boxes are the boxes my kiddos love the best. :)
    We are looking forward to coming to visit at the end of the month. Coming to your store is like being a kid in a candy store for a homeschool mom. :) :)

    • Cylly says:

      Like a kid in a HEALTHY candy store from mom’s perspective, right? :)
      I have seen the store all neat and tidy and categorized by subject. I love the accomplishment of organization. It makes me want to tackle some of my projects. Well, maybe next week sometime. I can’t even imagine more than just one box a day!

    • Julie Helms says:

      You are racking up loyalty points!! :-)

  5. Too bad my daughter does not live in your neck of the woods. She would loooove to help with a job like that … and get to look at chickens and sheep as a bonus.

    Alex

Leave a Reply

